Posted by: twinki | November 9, 2006

Looking In My Mirror

Well, I struggle to find things to write about on this thing. I’m not by nature a very “open” person. I feel and think very deeply but it just doesn’t come to the surface alot. Anyway, with all the hoopla the past several days about Ted Haggard and (of all things) Faith Hill’s “freak out”, I got to thinking and gained a little tiny bit of inspiration I guess.

These two people may not appear to have anything in common but they do. Their weaknesses have been exposed. Okay, so we’re not all perfect after all. I’ve been reading all the comments on different blogs and websites and one thing stands out. How incredibly judgemental and unforgiving we can be.

Looking in my mirror I see someone who has made, and continues to make, plenty of mistakes as well… and someone who has weaknesses just like everyone else. The difference is I am not a popular preacher or music star. So my mistakes are judged by a much smaller group!

But the weaknesses and mistakes are there nonetheless.

As far as Ted Haggard, at least he did admit to weaknesses and ask for forgiveness. And Faith Hill, well who will ever TRULY know the nature of her intent except her and the good Lord? What I think is important to take from it all is we should accept the fact that we are human, bound to these bodies and very IMperfect.Β  And take responsibility when necessary. Eat crow even though it is tough and unsavory. No matter if millions of people “know” us or only enough to fill a compact car we should still find a way to embrace our weaknesses and learn from them and find a way to use them for good… to learn a lesson or help someone else.

And if we find ourselves witnessing someone elses weaknesses and it’s affects… there’s only one Judge… and it ain’t me! πŸ™‚ Love is the answer. Sounds corny but I believe it’s true. So Faith acted like a brat or delivered a joke at the wrong time. She’s human. Doesn’t make her a dreadful person. Human. If she was being a brat and chooses to pass it as a joke… still human! Bruised egos and hurt pride have gripped us all at times and made us too embarrassed or stubborn to own our actions. WE’RE HUMAN.

I’ve done the same thing lots of times I’m sure. Screwed up and been too stubborn or blind or unwilling to let the egg on my face humble me or teach me. It’s an easy thing to be taken by.

My hope is that I can learn something from both of these people and take it with me for the next time I’m smack dab in the middle of a situation where my faults, weaknesses and human nature are glaringly obvious and I am faced with how to handle it. And I know there will be just such a time!

I’m just thankful my only Judge is so forgiving and loving! Boy am I thankful!

Responses

  1. Great post Twinki! I feel the same way… I am sure I have acted in the same manner MANY times! πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Twinki! Thanks for visiting my blog! This is a great post. It’s so hard for us not to judge others but we have to remember that we are not the judge. I have to constantly remind myself of that with my younger brother. It’s hard and I constantly pray on it and about him.

  3. I enjoyed your post. I’m at the point in my life were I’m having to learn that I don’t have to be perfect or base my self-worth on how others view me. My self-worth is based on God’s love for me and how He sees me. God Bless!

  4. Twinki,
    great post. You’re so right, love is always the answer!
    Btw, thanks for blogrolling me. I can’t wait to read all your stuff. Your Christmas meme was really cute, good answers. Especially your best gift! Jesus always πŸ™‚
    God bless you,
    Diana

  5. Google is the best search engine


Leave a Reply

Categories

