Posted by: twinki | October 14, 2006

Keep sending the prayers up!

gdublaugh.jpgMy nephew had surgery yesterday and he’s not been doing so well. Here is the latest update from his mom. Please read through the details and keep these things in mind as you pray. We appreciate it so much.

Okay, sorry for the long wait for an update. He has given us a run for our money today. First, let me say thank you so much for all of the prayers and the encouraging comments. I love you all!! We appreciate the support so much. I won’t get a chance to thank each person individually, but I know who you are and we are SO grateful.

I don’t remember if I gave a run down of how things went when he first came back from surgery. He was not breathing well – very congested. He was in quite a bit of pain too. But once he got settled and got pain meds he slept fairly well. He even ate a couple of bottles through the night. The whole time he had breathing issues though.

A little about the hemangiomas. The one on his shoulder was much more elaborate than what was expected. It was entangled in his muscle. The doctor had to do two incisions just to remove it all. The muscles are intact and he should not have any problems resulting from the removal. The one on the shoulder was the size of a small tangerine once removed. The one on his back was about three times the size it appeared on the outside. Apparently this type does not just reside atop of the skin but underneath as well. So the surgery took longer than expected.

Now, on with the events of the day. Since the last update I have had several breakdowns as you can imagine. I don’t know what I would do without Don. I don’t know if I said in the previous update that he had thrown up so much that he was throwing up bile and blood. Then he got to where he was dry heaving. The chest XRay came back normal. The stomach XRay came back “abnormal”. So…the doctor ordered an ultrasound of the stomach and an upper GI. Basically she thought that his bowel was either “twisted” or there was a blockage somewhere. Either of which, from what she said, could happen at the snap of a finger. Isn’t that comforting to know. She ordered the tests to rule out any of the “very serious” problems he could have that would be causing his severe illness. The tests were done and thank God they were all “normal”. The upper GI did show some “thickening” of the bowel. This could be caused by a viral infection. Which would explain the vomitting. He has had several bowel movements this afternoon. This is good because he is moving things through now. They attempted to put in an IV so many times we lost count but had no luck. But since the tests came back negative the doctor decided to let us try clear liquids tonight. If he doesn’t hold that down they will have to get someone from NICU to come down and try for the IV. So far he has had two feedings of Pedialite and had kept them down. He looks and sounds quite a bit better. He is resting.

So in a nutshell all of this has been caused by some type of viral infection. I can handle a viral infection. I can’t handle bowel issues that could be deadly.

I know I am leaving stuff out but it has been such a long day on no sleep. And so much has happened I honestly can’t even remember it all. I don’t even know if any of this is making sense!

I am not sure when he will be released from the hospital. It depends on how he does tonight and then how he does when he gets back on formula.

I will try to keep updating…we got an internet connection in our room finally.

Thank you again for all the prayers. I know that is what is getting us all through.

Responses

  1. I’m glad to hear that Grayson is better. I knew he would be!!!

    Love ya and call if you need me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

